The Portal Adventures: Vortex on Vertu Prime

by Andrew J. Harvey

April 25-28

New Release!


Link for the book

The last thing Tania needed was someone else telling her what to do. Her mother did enough of that! But during a school trip to the museum she somehow finds herself acquiring a very bossy teddy-bear called Edward. Created to serve as a bodyguard for Li-otho, a young, alien princess, Edward had only recently escaped from the stasis bubble he had been sealed into centuries before.

With the arrival of the holidays Tania, and Edward, and her friends Mark and Windracer join Tania’s Mom on Veral Station. But the Station is a wreck, and her Mom quickly accepts an offer from the manager of the 5-star hotel on Veral Prime to put the children up for a week. The hotel, occupies a small section of the planet’s sole remaining arcology, a massive, pyramid-shaped, self-contained city. The arcology is all that remains of a planet-wide civilization that destroyed itself in a war centuries before. On their arrival at the hotel Edward is shocked to discover that Veral Prime is his former home, and that it was his failure to protect Li-otho that resulted in the war which destroyed its civilization.

When the archaeologists at the hotel accidentally activate a temporal warp generator the children, and Edward, are thrown backwards through time. With Edward’s power reserves dangerously low, the three children must struggle to reach the generator and turn it off before it destroys the planet.

About the author

Andrew spent his high-school years in the school’s library lost in the worlds of Andre Norton, Robert Heinlein, and Isaac Asimov. Reading in turn led to writing, with the first draft of The Portal Adventures originally completed to read to his two sons at night. Now his children have left home he lives in Perth with his wife, one dog, and sixty four gold fish.

Andrew is presently the Principal of Hague Publishing, established in 2011 as an independent publisher of Science Fiction and Fantasy. Registered in Western Australia, it publishes original work by Australian and New Zealand authors.

Andrew’s first published short story (A Messenger to the Dragon) appeared in Aurealis – Australian Fantasy and Science Fiction in 1992. His most recent was the award winning 1827: Napoleon in Australia, which appeared in Sea Lion Press’ anthology Alternate Australias released in 2020.

His first novel, Nightfall (book one in the Clemhorn Trilogy) is an adult, alternate history set against the backdrop of the Cross-Temporal Empire and its fifty-four separate lines. Nightfall was released by Zmok Books in 2019. The series is distributed by Simon and Schuster.

Trouble on Teral and Crisis at Calista Station, the first two books in his new middle-grade, Science Fiction adventure series, The Portal Adventures, were released by Canada’s Peasantry Press in 2020. The open ended series is a combination of Caroline Lawrence’s Roman Mysteries and Andre Norton’s juvenile speculative fiction.

A passionate reader of Alternate History Andrew is working on completing a number of additional series of trilogies based on the Cross-Temporal Empire.

Certified YA Reviewer

Earn this badge when you publish the review!

KittyBerry Approved

Earn this badge! Our mascot wants to gif-certify Berryreviewers when they first join us on our new website. How can you say no to KittyBerry???


Join this tour

You’ll get the ebook and a media kit that you can use for your posts